(c)Sara Elin Roberts

(c)Sara Elin Roberts

The largest group is Blegywryd, consisting of fifteen manuscripts, I, J, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, Tim, Tr, Bost, and Ep.. The Blegywryd texts are from south Wales, and several of the later manuscripts show signs of editing, and often contain additional material in the form of a ‘tail’, appended to the main Blegywryd text. They are fairly close in order and content, but the redaction further splits into two groups. Previously the Dimetian code, the redaction is named after Blegywryd Athro, who is named in the prologues of the Cyfnerth and the Blegywryd manuscripts as the cleric deputed to draw up the laws.

See also the list of texts.

Emanuel, H. D., ‘Blegywryd and the Welsh Laws’, Bulletin of the Board of Celtic Studies 20 (1962-4), 256-260.

Emanuel, H. D., ‘Llyfr Blegywryd a Llawysgrif Rawlinson 821’, Bulletin of the Board of Celtic Studies 19 (1960-62), 23-28.

*Emanuel, H. D., ‘The Book of Blegywryd and MS. Rawlinson 821’, in Celtic Law Papers (Brussels, 1973), 161-170.


Website design and hosting: Technoleg Taliesin Cyf.